You are here

Milk Allergy Diet

Milk allergy diet is a prescribed choice of foods which are safe to be consumed by a person suffering from milk allergy (also called dairy allergy and most often also as cow’s milk allergy), a condition wherein an allergic response is triggered in the patient’s body in reaction to the proteins present in cow’s milk. The incidence of cow’s milk allergy is more amongst young children and infants. However, in many cases, the milk allergy can also be caused by the consumption of the milk derived from other animals.

 

Milk Allergy Diet Routine

Here’s a sample Dairy allergy diet menu -

 

Breakfast: Soy milk formulas, eggs, hummus.

 

Lunch: Milk allergy recipes such as Green Curry Salad, Rice, Dairy-free Potato Leek Soup and Chicken Provencal.

 

Dinner: Consommé, Macaroni or Noodles, French bread, Guacamole and Vegan Butterscotch Pudding are some of the milk allergy recipes that can be made a part of the dinner table.

 

Snacks and Beverages: Graham crackers, rice wafers, fruits, black tea, carbonated drinks, meringue, gelatin, popsicles.

 

Cow’s Milk Allergy Diet: Foods to Avoid

A milk allergy diet should never included foods:

  • Dairy products like butter, artificial butter flavor, yogurt, cheese, cream etc
  • Casein and Caseinates (calcium, potassium, ammonium, sodium and magnesium)
  • Custards and puddings
  • Hydrolysates (milk protein, whey protein, whey, protein)
  • Lactalbumin, Lactose, Lactalbumin Phosphate and Lactoglobulin
  • Milk derivatives like low fat, non-fat, malted, dry, condensed or skimmed dairy or dairy products
  • Nougat

The above mentioned products made from cow's milk should be avoided.

 

Milk Allergy: Trivia

  • Those on a Cow’s milk allergy diet can also opt for other varieties of milks such as goat’s milk or other ruminant milks, nut milk, soy milk, hemp milk, oat milk and rice milk.
  • While the presence of animal milk is easily detectable in dairy products such as cheese, butter, yogurt, ice cream and similar products, the milk may also be present in several other food items such as processed meats, where it becomes hard to detect. One way of avoiding this is to read the nutrition labels of every food item, as far as applicable, so as to keep milk allergy at bay.
  • The food label “Non-dairy” may not necessarily mean there is no milk in it, rather, it indicates there’s no cream or butter included.  
  • Kosher food labels such as “Parve” or “Pareve” signify the food item is sans any dairy or dairy products. However, a small amount of dairy may at times be present in such Kosher foods too and even then, be labeled as “Pareve” and so, when buying foods as a part of the milk allergy diet, Pareve foods marked with a “D” adjacent to circled U or K, must be avoided.

 

Further Reading

lpch.org

childrenshospital.org